GMHI Awards Evening, News (Goderich Minor Hockey)

PrintNews Article
Click to view full-size image
GMHI Awards Evening
Submitted By Tara Corriveau on Thu 04 28, 22
We had the pleasure of hosting the GMHI Awards evening on Thursday April 21st at the Maitland Rec Centre.  All trophies and plaques are now proudly displayed in the trophy case at the front entrance of the Maitland Rec Centre.

Congratulations to all award winners!

The Paul Rivers Memorial Award is awarded annually to a U9 player who exhibits personality, dedication, and perseverance. 
This years recipient is Weston Powell

The Greg "Sporty" DeWinter Award
 is awarded annually to one Atom player on each team having the "sporty"spirit.  A child who is a great friend, teammate and player who works hard each and every shift. 
This years recipients are Bronson Swan, Eric Steadman and Emily Blackmore

The Vic Whetstone Memorial Award is given annually to the most dedicated U13 player. 
This years recipient is William Carmichael

The Gerry Fritzley Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to a U13 goalie for outstanding effort. 
This years recipient is Benson Hogan 

The Terry Bean Award is awarded annually to a goalie who is the most dedicated. 
This years recipients are Henry Armstrong and Eric Volland (absent)


The Ed Ervine Memorial Award is awarded annually to the most dedicated U15 player. 
This years award winners were the U15 Marcc Apparel team.  They came together in a collaborative effort to create an inclusive, dynamic and talented team 

The Mark Rae Mathers Memorial Award is awarded annually to the U18 players who exhibit consistent outstanding defensive ability. 
This years award recipients are Gryffin Langis and Brady Fraser

The Jared Fisher Memorial Award is awarded annually to a U18 player who through dedication, personality and enthusiasm during their minor hockey years has displayed the quality of good citizenship. 
This years award winners are Owen McGee and Evan Beddow

Donald C. Johnston Memorial Award is presented annually to a group or individual for their commitment, dedication and years of service to the game of hockey in Goderich. 
This years award winner is Mike McBride

The Ed Ervine Memorial Award is given annually to an individual who has gone above and beyond the call of duty for Goderich Minor Hockey. 
This years recipients are Brandon & Tara Corriveau

The Past Presidents Award is given annually to an individual for their outstanding contribution to the Goderich Minor Hockey organization. 
This years recipient is Ian Karges

The Wolterbeek Family Award is given annually to upstanding member of the community, who promotes integrity through their community involvement. 
Mike Alcock accepted the award on behalf of the Goderich Lions Club

The Doug Cruickshank Memorial Award is presented annually to a coach and their bench staff for their outstanding contributions to the development of hockey in Goderich. 
This years award was presented to the U11 Lions Rep Team - Kalen Carroll, Ben Craig, Paul Gill, Brad Powell & Barb Nivins-Zondag

This article has been viewed 140 times.
News ArchiveOther Recent Articles
  • 16
    The Goderich Minor Hockey Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be held on Wednesday June 1st, 2022 at 7pm in the Sky Harbour room at the Maitland Valley Rec Centre.   All members are welcome and encouraged to attend.  
  • 03
    We would like to congratulate our U15 Marcc Apparel LL team on becoming the WOAA Elite Division Champs and recognize the U11 Lions Rep team for being a Finalist in the WOAA Gregg Division. The journey continues for the U11 Rep Sailors and we wish ...
  • 02
    Come over the Maitland Rec Centre TONIGHT to cheer on our Goderich Sailors U11 Lions Rep team as they take on the Mount Forest Rams in Game 5 of the WOAA Finals! It’s been an exciting run for the team with 3 of the 4 games already played going ...
  • 19
    The Goderich Sailors U18 Legion Branch 109 Rep team brought home the Consolation Championship banner today at YCW!
  • 16
    Our U15 Marcc Apparel LL Sailors took home the CHAMPIONSHIP banner for the 71st Annual Young Canada Week Tournament
  • 13
    The Goderich Sailors U13 Kinsmen/Jenkins LL team were crowned the 71st Annual YCW Consolation Champs!
  • 31
    The YMCA/Sifto Arena re-opens today and GMHI ice times resume.  Please pay close attention to your teams calendar - the website calendar is being updated regularly as games are being scheduled. As per Ontario regulations, the enhanced vaccine ...
  • 03
    GMHI families,  Today the Provincial government announced the closure of sport, recreation and gym facilities as part of the return to a modified step 2 plan with additional public health measures.   The closure takes effect on Wednesday, ...
Printed from on Saturday, May 21, 2022 at 5:44 AM